“it’s such a hard thing to explain, anyway, because, there’s no word, like ‘she has this or that’”

Over the course of the past two months, I have become very conscientious of the role that language plays for me in my life. Language is the basis for most of my communications, simple and complex, and provides me with stepping stones that lead to paths that lead to decisions and my growth. So what happens when language is not an option?

Before my sister was diagnosed as on the autism spectrum (Pervasive Developmental Disorder-Not Otherwise Specified/PDD-NOS), I faced many challenges associated with describing her to people. Of course, I could always spew out her learning disabilities but those never came close to depicting and illustrating her intense behavioral issues that defined life at home. Now, even though autism does not explain her in the slightest, at least I have a word to use that the general public is fairly familiar with. We spoke with two college students in California who do not have the luxury that I now have when I describe my sister to people. Interestingly, all three of our siblings share common ground behaviorally. We spoke with Mike* and Emily* who both have middle school-aged sisters. Mike’s sister is a 13-year-old twin and has been diagnosed with depression but is currently undergoing a new diagnostic assessment relating to her behavioral problems. Emily’s sister is also 13. Her sister was adopted when she was 2 from Russia and has many learning disabilities, processing issues, and attachment difficulties.

Both Mike and Emily talked in great detail about how hard it is for both of their families to constantly struggle with household peace. “All of the behaviors she has are like relatively normal things. If they happened once,” Mike said, “but because they happen so many times, they end up having this huge impact.” He told us that his family has given up on the concepts of family dinners or vacations due to his sisters rages about minute details (like specific foods at the table or not being able to see because someone was in front of her). Emily talked about how high school became increasingly difficult because she was unable to do her schoolwork due to the constant screaming and tantrums her younger sister still throws.  They both talked about the maelstrom that has been growing up with their sisters because of such intense behavioral problems.

How can a sib describe their sibling when they don’t have a name to quantify or qualify the amount and extent of their siblings’ behavioral difficulties?

“How much of this is actually some diagnosed thing? Where do you draw the line?” Both Mike and Emily discussed the dubiety associated with trying to figure out if their sisters’ behaviors were due to cognitive issues or their sisters’ personalities. When the two of them have tried to explain their household chaos to others, they literally find themselves at a loss for words. “People don’t get it and they judge me for being mean to her,” Emily observed. “I always feel like a bad person for disliking her so much… and it affects how I view myself now.”

“It was both frustrating and scary. Because on the one hand, I was like I don’t want to be like her, but at the same I was like, well if I feel the same way as she does about all of these things and I manage not to destroy our family, I don’t know why she can’t do that.”

These interviews brought on something we hadn’t quite encountered yet on our journey. How can sibs identify as sibs when they themselves don’t even know what is truly going on in their sibling’s minds? Though I strongly believe that diagnoses and epithets have drastically changed the face of the disabilities world in a multitude of positive and negative ways, I do believe now that, at least for sibs, there is some comfort in being able to have a piece of language that begins to identify the complications that go along with being a sib.

*Name has been changed

Ellie

Leave a Reply

